Tuesday, September 13, 2011

Review: Bush - The Sea of Memories

Stream the album here.

To state the obvious, it's been a really long time (about 10 years) since we've heard anything from Bush.  This 90s post-grunge band has undergone changes in that time, with the loss of original guitarist, Nigel Pulsford, and bassist, Dave Parsons -- leaving Gavin Rossdale and drummer Robin Goodridge as the only original members.  This change is also reflected in The Sea of Memories.  Gone are the experimental elecronica, post-grunge, alternative rock sounds.  Instead, a more modern-rock style is presented in The Sea of Memories.

The first-half of the album presents some pretty strong material.  I particularly enjoyed "The Mirror of the Signs" and "The Sound of Winter".  The former is a solid hard-rocker, which also showcases Goodridge's solid drumming.  "All Night Doctors" also presents some of the best vocal-work from Rossdale in years.  I found that my interest began to falter in the latter-half of the album.  Songs like "Red Light" seemed much more poppy and generic.  The only saving grace is Rossdale's signature voice crooning over the pop melodies.  The album did end on a high note, with the flowing and emotional "Be Still My Love".

I will say that I liked The Sea of Memories.  The album, however, lacks the staying power of previous Bush albums.  I especially miss the experimental side of the band.  Those unfamiliar with the band, however, may see this as an improvement since this album is much less polar than previous efforts.

Definitely have a listen and let me know what you think!

The Sea of Memories can be purchased on iTunes and Amazon.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Total Pageviews


...Of Sinking Ships 3 Doors Down 311 65daysofstatic A Winged Victory for the Sullen Abel Albums Align in Time All Get Out Amazon mp3 American Gospel Anberlin Anchor and Braille Andain As I Lay Dying Astronautalis August Burns Red Autopilot Off Balance and Composure Banquets Belle Noire Best Of Bon Iver Bonobo Boysetsfire Brand New Breton Brighter Than A Thousand Suns Bring Me The Horizon Bush Captain We're Sinking Cartel Caspian Circa Survive Citizen Cloakroom Coasta Coheed and Cambria Collapse Under The Empire Conditions Copeland Crash Of Rhinos Daft Punk Daylight Dead Sara Defeater DJ Shadow Emancipator End of the Year List Evaline Every Avenue Fear Factory Fink Foo Fighters Four Year Strong Free Streaming From Indian Lakes fun. Funeral For A Friend Future Ghosts Good Old War Hands Like Houses Hans Zimmer HRVRD I Am The Avalanche I The Mighty If These Trees Could Talk Ilan Rubin Incubus iTunes Jack's Mannequin James Grant James Newton Howard Jimmy Eat World Jody Wisternoff Joe Hedges Kevin Devine La Dispute Loic Maurin Looper Lostprophets M83 Make Do and Mend Mallory Knox Manchester Orchestra Massive Attack Mayday Parade Me and My Arrow Middle Class Rut Minus the Bear Mixtapes Mogwai Morcheeba Moving Mountains Nathan Johnson Native New Found Glory Nick Warren Nine Inch Nails O'brother Ólafur Arnalds Panic At the Disco Paramore Pity Sex Playlist Polar Bear Club Portishead Psychic Babble Republic of Wolves Reverse The Curse Review Rian Johnson Run For Cover Records Russian Circles Sainthood Reps Saltillo Sasha Saves the Day Seahaven Simfy Sins Soilwork Songs States Take Cover The Almost The Classic Crime The Company We Keep The Dangerous Summer The Dark Knight Rises The Dear Hunter The Devil Wears Prada The Early November The Gaslight Anthem The Graduate The Horrible Crowes The Ongoing Concept The Red Jumpsuit Apparatus The Wonder Years There For Tomorrow Thievery Corporation This Love Thrice Thursday Tides Of Man Tigers On Trains Top Ten Touche Amore Transit Tricky Troubled Coast Turnover Tycho UNKLE We Are The Ocean Wolves at the Gate Yellowcard You Me At Six Young Statues Zero 7


Search This Blog