Monday, October 10, 2011

Review: Transit - Listen & Forgive

October 4th marked the release of a slew of new pop-punk and pop-rock albums.  I counted about seven albums that I was definitely interested in checking out.  Well, the day has come and gone and I've finally gotten around to listening to all of my anticipated albums for that day.  One album in particular stood above all the rest, which was Transit's new full-length, Listen & Forgive.

Listen & Forgive is Transit's best album yet, and is one of the best releases of the year.  I was pleasantly surprised by their new direction, musically.  Instead of sticking with the norm and pumping out another pop-punk album, they infused much more emotion, slowing the pace a bit.  Really, this album is absolutely fantastic musically.  For example, "Asleep at the Wheel" boasts some really solid guitar work from Tim Landers combined with some perfectly timed drum play that slowly builds to the brilliantly layered chorus.  "Cutting Corners", on the other hand, emits a fast-paced energy reminiscent of earlier Transit albums.  The closing track (and perhaps best track on the album), "The Answer Comes in Time", is the perfect fusion of the old Transit combined with the new, which really left a lasting impression on me.

Lyrically, Listen & Forgive is all about dealing with the heartache and anger of a break-up.  Those looking for a more positive album may be somewhat turned off by this, but the lyrics really didn't feel so imposing that I had to stop listening out of sheer sadness.  Rather, I just wanted to keep listening to the album over and over again.  The best lyrics reside in "All Your Heart", which also features Patrick Stump of Fall Out Boy.  Boynton really vents his anger as he exclaims, "You made me into a monster / So I made you into art / And I gave it to the world / To rip and tear apart".  Of course, Boynton's lyrics and voice are extremely consistent throughout the album, which could impart a sense of sameness among the songs.  However, I never felt I was listening to the same song over and over.  This is in part due to the solid guitar work from Landers, who also adds an extra level to each song with some impressive back-up vocals.

Like I said before, Listen & Forgive is one of the best releases of the year.  Transit broke from the normal fast-paced pop-punk sound to create a truly emotional and captivating album.  If you had money for only one album that was released on October 4th, Listen & Forgive is the one to get.  Definitely check it out!

You can buy Listen & Forgive on iTunes and Amazon, but note that both online versions of the album do not include "The Answer Comes in Time".

Sunday, October 2, 2011

Review: You Me At Six - Sinners Never Sleep

After their second album, the Surrey-based English band You Me At Six almost reached the point of complete implosion.  Luckily for us listeners, they did not.  But, even better, the drama and tough times that surrounded the band inspired the subject-matter of their newest album, Sinners Never Sleep, which marks the band's shift from a typical pop-punk sound to that which is much more mature.

Really, this album caught be by complete surprise.  I've enjoyed You Me At Six's previous albums, Take Off Your Colours and Hold Me Down, but they never stood out among many of the other good pop-punk albums.  However, I was immediately drawn in by Sinners Never Sleep.  The transition to a mature rock sound and the deeper lyrics really made this album feel fresh and enjoyable.  But, don't be worried, elements from their previous albums are also still retained throughout the album.

Sinners Never Sleep features some of the most aggressive songs ever written by You Me At Six.  For example, Josh Franceschi lets loose all of his past anger towards his band mates (and vice versa) in "Bite My Tongue", which also features Oli Sykes, the frontman of Bring Me the Horizon, adding some biting screams to an already hard and heavy song.  "Time is Money", featuring Parkway Drive's Winston McCall, is probably the most hardcore song this band has ever written.  However, rest assured, there are plenty of catchy tunes that feel a bit more like the old You Me At Six.  Album opener, "Loverboy", has all the catchy anthemic melodies that one would expect from You Me At Six.  "Jaws on the Floor" and "Reckless" also have some of the most catchy choruses on the album.

On the brink of implosion, You Me At Six were able to turn things around and survive, and with this survival, they managed to write the best album of their careers.  Those who only liked them for their pop-punk elements may be a bit disappointed by this album, but I found myself really liking the songs which showed their new direction much, much more.  Definitely check 'em out!

Total Pageviews


...Of Sinking Ships 3 Doors Down 311 65daysofstatic A Winged Victory for the Sullen Abel Albums Align in Time All Get Out Amazon mp3 American Gospel Anberlin Anchor and Braille Andain As I Lay Dying Astronautalis August Burns Red Autopilot Off Balance and Composure Banquets Belle Noire Best Of Bon Iver Bonobo Boysetsfire Brand New Breton Brighter Than A Thousand Suns Bring Me The Horizon Bush Captain We're Sinking Cartel Caspian Circa Survive Citizen Cloakroom Coasta Coheed and Cambria Collapse Under The Empire Conditions Copeland Crash Of Rhinos Daft Punk Daylight Dead Sara Defeater DJ Shadow Emancipator End of the Year List Evaline Every Avenue Fear Factory Fink Foo Fighters Four Year Strong Free Streaming From Indian Lakes fun. Funeral For A Friend Future Ghosts Good Old War Hands Like Houses Hans Zimmer HRVRD I Am The Avalanche I The Mighty If These Trees Could Talk Ilan Rubin Incubus iTunes Jack's Mannequin James Grant James Newton Howard Jimmy Eat World Jody Wisternoff Joe Hedges Kevin Devine La Dispute Loic Maurin Looper Lostprophets M83 Make Do and Mend Mallory Knox Manchester Orchestra Massive Attack Mayday Parade Me and My Arrow Middle Class Rut Minus the Bear Mixtapes Mogwai Morcheeba Moving Mountains Nathan Johnson Native New Found Glory Nick Warren Nine Inch Nails O'brother Ólafur Arnalds Panic At the Disco Paramore Pity Sex Playlist Polar Bear Club Portishead Psychic Babble Republic of Wolves Reverse The Curse Review Rian Johnson Run For Cover Records Russian Circles Sainthood Reps Saltillo Sasha Saves the Day Seahaven Simfy Sins Soilwork Songs States Take Cover The Almost The Classic Crime The Company We Keep The Dangerous Summer The Dark Knight Rises The Dear Hunter The Devil Wears Prada The Early November The Gaslight Anthem The Graduate The Horrible Crowes The Ongoing Concept The Red Jumpsuit Apparatus The Wonder Years There For Tomorrow Thievery Corporation This Love Thrice Thursday Tides Of Man Tigers On Trains Top Ten Touche Amore Transit Tricky Troubled Coast Turnover Tycho UNKLE We Are The Ocean Wolves at the Gate Yellowcard You Me At Six Young Statues Zero 7


Search This Blog