Wednesday, November 16, 2011

Review: O'Brother - Garden Window

Dark, heavy, thoughtful, emotional, sweeping, beautiful, and edgy are among the many adjectives that could be used to describe the songs that comprise O'Brother's debut album, Garden Window.  There is a certain unpredictability in each song that captures the essence of Garden Window.  Life is unpredictable, and can be full of many twists and turns as we search for ourselves and our beliefs.  It is clear that past and present influences are an important inspiration for O'Brother's construction of Garden Window.  While maintaining a constant search for answers to their own theology, they also make no effort to hide the musical influences that helped shape this album.  To just name a few, the sounds of Radiohead, Tool, Blonde Redhead, the Deftones, and Converge resonate from Garden Window.  Co-producers, Andy Hull and Robert McDowell from Manchester Orchestra, also add some of their own signature sound to this album, most evident in "Sputnik", in which Hull has guest vocals.

Garden Window really demands your attention right from the start.  I typically can work while listening to music in the background, but I was constantly distracted as I listened to this album.  There is definitely a lot to take in.  The tracks that really stand out are "Malum", "Easy Talk (Open Your Mouth)", "Cleanse Me", and "Last Breath".  The solid rocker, "Lay Down", will also most likely be a fan favorite.  "Malum" opens the album with a heavy intensity, the distortion almost at the edge of dissonance, only to immediately transition to clean vocals and guitars at the start of "Lo".  This really set the mood for the rest of the album and instantly grabbed my attention.  "Easy Talk", on the other hand, takes things down a notch with some absolutely beautiful layering.  "Cleanse Me" is one of the most harrowing tracks on the album. Starting with a heavy crescendo, the song suddenly turns to a clean ambience only to revert back to the distortion at the end.  Note also, that this song has a runtime of fourteen minutes.  To keep the listener captivated over such a long period is quite the feat in itself.  "Last Breath" ends the album with a beautiful polar opposite to the distortion that started the album.

O'Brother have really begun to make a name for themselves, having toured with the likes of Thrice, The Dear Hunter, and Manchester Orchestra.  Their debut album will only increase their rise above the multitude of rock bands.  With such a solid debut, it will be exciting to see what these guys will produce as they further refine their sound.

Definitely check it out!

You can purchase Garden Window on iTunes and Amazon.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Total Pageviews


...Of Sinking Ships 3 Doors Down 311 65daysofstatic A Winged Victory for the Sullen Abel Albums Align in Time All Get Out Amazon mp3 American Gospel Anberlin Anchor and Braille Andain As I Lay Dying Astronautalis August Burns Red Autopilot Off Balance and Composure Banquets Belle Noire Best Of Bon Iver Bonobo Boysetsfire Brand New Breton Brighter Than A Thousand Suns Bring Me The Horizon Bush Captain We're Sinking Cartel Caspian Circa Survive Citizen Cloakroom Coasta Coheed and Cambria Collapse Under The Empire Conditions Copeland Crash Of Rhinos Daft Punk Daylight Dead Sara Defeater DJ Shadow Emancipator End of the Year List Evaline Every Avenue Fear Factory Fink Foo Fighters Four Year Strong Free Streaming From Indian Lakes fun. Funeral For A Friend Future Ghosts Good Old War Hands Like Houses Hans Zimmer HRVRD I Am The Avalanche I The Mighty If These Trees Could Talk Ilan Rubin Incubus iTunes Jack's Mannequin James Grant James Newton Howard Jimmy Eat World Jody Wisternoff Joe Hedges Kevin Devine La Dispute Loic Maurin Looper Lostprophets M83 Make Do and Mend Mallory Knox Manchester Orchestra Massive Attack Mayday Parade Me and My Arrow Middle Class Rut Minus the Bear Mixtapes Mogwai Morcheeba Moving Mountains Nathan Johnson Native New Found Glory Nick Warren Nine Inch Nails O'brother Ólafur Arnalds Panic At the Disco Paramore Pity Sex Playlist Polar Bear Club Portishead Psychic Babble Republic of Wolves Reverse The Curse Review Rian Johnson Run For Cover Records Russian Circles Sainthood Reps Saltillo Sasha Saves the Day Seahaven Simfy Sins Soilwork Songs States Take Cover The Almost The Classic Crime The Company We Keep The Dangerous Summer The Dark Knight Rises The Dear Hunter The Devil Wears Prada The Early November The Gaslight Anthem The Graduate The Horrible Crowes The Ongoing Concept The Red Jumpsuit Apparatus The Wonder Years There For Tomorrow Thievery Corporation This Love Thrice Thursday Tides Of Man Tigers On Trains Top Ten Touche Amore Transit Tricky Troubled Coast Turnover Tycho UNKLE We Are The Ocean Wolves at the Gate Yellowcard You Me At Six Young Statues Zero 7


Search This Blog